The Death Rattle

I read an article yesterday called We’re Called to Make Disciples, Not Converts and I thought more about yesterday’s blog. I stand by it completely, love is all that is required. But I want to make certain sure that no-one is under any misapprehension about how this works.

Maybe some people would look at me – up early, reading my Bible, praying, writing this blog, at Church on Sunday and during the week for prayer meetings; doing other ‘good’ stuff – and think I am some super spiritual person, or think I think I am an uber Christian. They couldn’t be more wrong. The more time I spend with Him, the more I realise I don’t spend enough, that I need Him every second to lead and guide me.

Don’t mistake me about this either, I know that if I died right now I would be in Heaven with Him. I am saved. I haven’t a single doubt about that. But I know too that I’m in the process of being sanctified, made holy. I’m not nearly there yet. I trust I’m closer today than I was yesterday and tomorrow closer still but when we are looking at the infinite majesty and glory of a holy God there are limitless steps to go until that Day when the fleshly life is finally done.

Read Psalm 116. It’s a beautiful description of salvation and redemption.

I love the Lord, for he heard my voice;
    he heard my cry for mercy

I was lost in my sinful life and cried out to Him. He heard me and saved me.

For you, Lord, have delivered me from death,
    my eyes from tears,
    my feet from stumbling,

He delivered me from the sting of death, I have the gift of eternal life. I have the power of the Holy Spirit to lead and guide, to help me live.

15 Precious in the sight of the Lord
    is the death of his faithful servants.

So what’s this bit? Perhaps it’s martyrdom, being willing to die physically for what I believe. But maybe this death is dying to me, to my sinful nature, to my flesh and its wants. Maybe that’s the death that’s most precious in His eyes.

God is Love. He reached down to me (to you, to the world) because of that love. My response to love Him in return brought me new life. But if I’m the same person today that I was before I knew Him I’m missing something. He still loves me but do I love Him really? If I do love Him then I want to obey Him, be like Him. I have talked about His mercy and grace, His patience but at some point, if I’m serious about loving Him, I have to make that decision and start following.

Read the article I linked at the top. I am not a perfect disciple, I am working with Him on moving from convert to disciple and will be for the rest of this life.

The point is He and I are working.

One thought on “The Death Rattle

  1. Hallelujah to that Jules. Back on target to my mind, We just got to keep on loving Him with a shout; or a whisper, just loving Him. See what that produces! Thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

