Men like trees

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be without any of your senses. Unable to see, hear, touch, taste, smell? Probably not, I know the closest I have come is choosing between blindness and deafness in those silly quizzes. For the record, much as I love music I would rather be deaf than blind because… books. How would you feel if I said most people do live insensible to what’s around us? We live deaf and blind, unable to feel or see the truth about the world, ourselves and each other? Maybe you’d jump up and say “I already know that, but I became a Christian and now I can see.” Me too!

But how much do we really see?

There’s only one way I can sense this world clearly, truly and that’s by the power of the Holy Spirit. Jesus lived in constant communication with God, like he had a bluetooth earpiece with a direct line to His Father. He knew exactly where to go, exactly when to go, exactly how long to stay, exactly what to do, exactly what to say, exactly who to say it to. How? Because He was led by the Holy Spirit, because He communicated with God.

22 They came to Bethsaida, and some people brought a blind man and begged Jesus to touch him. 23 He took the blind man by the hand and led him outside the village. When he had spit on the man’s eyes and put his hands on him, Jesus asked, “Do you see anything?”

24 He looked up and said, “I see people; they look like trees walking around.”

25 Once more Jesus put his hands on the man’s eyes. Then his eyes were opened, his sight was restored, and he saw everything clearly.

Mark 8:22-25

I wonder if we’re like that blind man, caught in the middle of healing. Seeing men like trees but not fully aware that we should be seeing men as men. Jesus could have left it like that, the man could see in part but He didn’t. He laid His hands on him again and the man saw clearly. I want to see clearly, 20-20 vision just like Jesus. What’s more important is that Jesus wants me to see, to feel as He does.

But how?

Simple answer – prayer. Twice already today I told people I’d pray for them fully intending to but I make it such a chore sometimes. I can pray ‘on the fly’ but a bit of me thinks if it’s not in my prayer time, on my knees it’s not ‘as good’. What rubbish. Do I think Jesus only communicated with God in those times He withdrew to pray? Does the passage above say Jesus saw the blind man, went off to seek God in His quiet time and came back later?  No He led the man aside and prayed for Him. Every time He did what He heard from the Father. That’s not ‘on the fly’ that’s being constantly in God’s presence.

That is what I want, to have the open line between me and my Father, talking, listening, obeying as He says that person, that place, this sin, that hurt.

I want this so much, He wants this even more. He is God, I am not. His line is clear, must be the reception my end…

2 thoughts on “Men like trees

  1. The other day I watched the “The Miracle Worker” with my daughter; the story of Helen Keller and the teacher, Anne Sullivan, that helped awaken her to the world. It’s a great analogy to your blog post here. Jesus is our Moracle Worker, and like Anne to Helen he is wanting so desperately to help us see and know of the amazing existence he has provided us. And like Helen, if only we can get there what excitement we will feel and how our lives will change forever!

    Like

Leave a Reply

