Pride

Seems I am having some confession time. I just commented that I am reluctant to ask for prayer and I wonder why that is? Could it be that I am so perfect I don’t need… sorry I can’t even finish that sentence for laughing. No, that’s not the problem. So then what?

Maybe I want people to think I am perfect, that I have it all together.

Ouch! Truth hurts sometimes.

What a grip pride has on me. I am so concerned with how I appear that I won’t ask for prayer, ask for help from my brothers and sisters. Not just that either, I won’t offer to pray for non-believers in case I look foolish.

Ouch! Double ouch, this stings hard. Thankfully He is faithful and good.

22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
    for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.

Lamentations 3:22-23

Pride denying me a chance to grow closer to my brothers and sisters in Christ. Denying me the opportunity to encourage and be encouraged by them, To exhort and be exhorted to greater good works. Denying the gift of God to someone lost and broken in case they mock me.

God has no time for pride. Pride says I am self-sufficient. It even sneakily lies telling me God and I have it sorted. Well if I were the only person on the earth that would be a valid argument, but God commands us to pray for and minister to each other. He made us a body to care for each other through Him.

Then the other. Wow, I excuse myself saying it might cause them to doubt God if I pray and He doesn’t answer… can you read that again? What arrogance. I am worried that God needs me to protect His reputation? So worried that I disobey His very commands to pray for the sick in case He didn’t really mean it?

I saw a quote last night and it hit me hard.

https://twitter.com/allenhoodihop/status/562262746431889408

This was a hard thing to share. That’s good, we don’t wear sackcloth and ashes any more or kneel and repent publicly so this is as close as I can get.

Please pray for me. I need it.

2 thoughts on “Pride

  1. Pingback: My Own Worst Enemy | Shiny Thoughts

Leave a Reply

