Personal designer

Every time I read Exodus I am stunned by the detail that God gave Moses for the building of the Tabernacle. The portable tent that housed the Ark of the Covenant and where the priests made offerings for themselves and the people. Check out Exodus chapters 25-30 to see what I am talking about.

God knew what materials, what designs, how big, how the curtains should fit, where the oil should go, what the fabrics should be woven from, whether it should be gold or silver etc etc. At the risk of being flippant He was the ultimate interior designer.

And why not? He was designing His home on earth. The place where He would meet with His people.

Put the altar in front of the curtain that shields the ark of the covenant law—before the atonement cover that is over the tablets of the covenant law—where I will meet with you.

Exodus 30:6

Well, when I say the people, I mean the High Priest, originally Aaron. God was present in the place, the fire and smoke revealed His presence. But only the priest, suitable cleansed and anointed could go close to meet with God. Even Moses, called and chosen by God had to be shielded from His full presence. 

17 And the Lord said to Moses, “I will do the very thing you have asked, because I am pleased with you and I know you by name.”

18 Then Moses said, “Now show me your glory.”

19 And the Lord said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the Lord, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.20 But,” he said, “you cannot see my face, for no one may see me and live.”

21 Then the Lord said, “There is a place near me where you may stand on a rock. 22 When my glory passes by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you with my hand until I have passed by. 23 Then I will remove my hand and you will see my back; but my face must not be seen.”

Exodus 33:17-23

But, and this is marvellous to me, that same God whose glory was too much to be seen by mortal man now makes His home within me

Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst?

1 Corinthians 3:16

Do I think God stopped caring about the place He makes His home? Do I think He is content with the way I was when He first came to live in my heart? By absolutely and totally NO means. 

He is still as passionate and meticulous about what His dwelling should be like. His desire is that I should be transformed and made perfect. Maybe I won’t have physical fine linens and gold coverings but I should have their spiritual equivalents. 

He is building me personally. The Hand of God on my life as I seek Him and submit to Him. Cleaning, anointing, clothing, adorning as I live my life before Him. As I love Him and know more and more that He is more important, more valuable than anything else I could possibly want or have.

He is building me personally. How awesome is that?

One thought on “Personal designer

  1. Hey Jules 🙂 this is so enlightening. It’s depth and understanding is breathtaking. Keep up the communing and revelations. We all need them. Just a thought maybe to be more inclusive ( not just ‘me’ but ‘you’ also kind of thing where appropriate

    Like

Leave a Reply

