House Proud

We just bought a house and if I had an unlimited budget there’s a list of things we need to do, as well as things I want to do, that is long. It is going to take time and energy to make it the place we want it to be. Not that we don’t love it already, we do, but like everything it needs work.

On this note, I can’t count how many times I have read  and heard Matthew’s gospel but while reading this week I found a verse I have never noticed before. One that puzzled me.

He (Jesus) said to them, “Therefore every teacher of the law who has become a disciple in the kingdom of heaven is like the owner of a house who brings out of his storeroom new treasures as well as old.”

Matt 13:52

This verse comes at the end of a chapter where Jesus is teaching about the Kingdom so my head was full of ideas like: listen and let the Word change you; value the kingdom like a treasure or a precious pearl; be ready to be sorted; the kingdom  starts small and grows. So this verse felt a bit strange. We all concentrate, and rightly, on the Kingdom and its effect in our lives so this verse about treasures in a house feels to me like it ought to say “The Kingdom of Heaven is like a man who owns a house and has it filled with treasures he has pursued all his life and given everything he has to collect.” 

But you know what? Once I sought God about it through prayer and discussion, I think it does. Let me share with you verses from Proverbs.

By wisdom a house is built,
    and through understanding it is established;
through knowledge its rooms are filled
    with rare and beautiful treasures.

Proverbs 24:3-4

If you read Proverbs (and I recommend you do) then you will see Lady Wisdom, is described as someone to be pursued and cherished, something to be valued above all else.

What is the beginning of wisdom? Fear of the Lord. How do I get Wisdom? By seeking it, studying and keeping the Law of the Lord. It is a gift of God. It is not the wisdom of the world but rather the Wisdom of God that I am to seek after.

What has this got to do with Matthew and houses you might ask. Seems to me that the house represents the place where I meet people. The treasures I bring out, both old and new, are the things of God that I have discovered, or had revealed to me through His Word, through good teaching, through conversation with other Christians, through the posts I love on Facebook, through so many things. But they become treasures when I  value them, when I let them soak into my heart and change my life for His glory, when they correct me and direct me.

They don’t have to be new things, after all the Gospel is old and still the best thing anyone can ever hear, but I love to talk with friends about the new truths I do discover in the Bible as I read. In a vault treasures just get dusty and make a miser of me so I am going to aim to shine them up and put them on show. I suppose that is what I am trying to do here actually. Guess God was a few steps ahead of me 😉

 

Leave a Reply

