Fill her up.

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

John 10:10 NIV

In my head this always says, ‘and have life abundantly’. Must be that memory thing again ;).

I don’t always feel like my life is abundant, not in a positive way at any rate. Sometimes it feels quite starved. 

But I am not going to live by what I feel, I am going to live by what the Word of God says – or keep trying to because that is what being a Christian is all about. Keeping on keeping on.

So what does He say in His Word?

He says: I am His child, I am called and chosen. I am righteous in His sight. He loves me. He has provided for me all I need for a godly life. His banner over me is love. He leads me in places where I can get rest and sustenance. His will is for me to be a blessing to those around me. He promises that nothing is able to separate me from His love. He promises to be with me always, to empower me with the Holy Spirit living in me, that streams of living water will well up inside me.

I can go on, and on, and on because the entire Bible is filled with His promises for and to me. But today, one verse spoke deeply to me. 

You provide a broad path for my feet,
    so that my ankles do not give way.

Psalm 18:36

That’s a God who cares about the details. If He says I shall have life abundantly I am going to believe Him and live as if it is true until it is true.

Leave a Reply

